New Jersey CPA Exam Requirements

American history, progress, and innovation await you as a CPA in New Jersey. View the exam-sitting requirements, licensure requirements, and contact information for the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy below.

CPA Exam Requirements

Check if you meet the requirements to sit for the exam.

Age: 18
Education: Bachelor's degree of 120 hours is required to sit for the exam 24 or 30 semester hours in accounting, depending on school's accreditation 24 semester hours in business courses
Citizenship: Citizenship is not required.
Residency: Residency is not required.

Additional Education Requirements

CPA Licensure Requirements

Here’s what you need to become licensed in the state of New Jersey.

Education: Bachelor's Degree of 150 semester hours is required.
Experience: 1 year experience in the practice of public accountancy. The experience includes intensive and diversified experience in accounting or auditing.
Ethics: Must pass New Jersey state exam covering: laws, regulations, and the code of ethical conduct

State Board Contacts

Get in touch with your local State Board of Accountancy.

New Jersey State Board of Accountancy
124 Halsey Street, P.O. Box 45000, 6th Floor
Newark, NJ
State Board Website


Initial Application Fee $225.00
AUD $193.45
BEC $173.60
FAR $193.45
REG $173.60
Total $959.10

Schedule Your Exam

View local Prometric testing centers and schedule your exam.

To receive your CPA license additional requirements may be necessary. As fees and rules may change, we recommend contacting your State Board of Accountancy for more information.

Start My Free Trial